• Share:
    January 30, 2019

    DOVER, N.H.—JANUARY 29, 2019—Dover’s 400th Anniversary Committee recently unveiled the logo to be associated with Dover’s 400th birthday celebration, in 2023. The art work was conceived by Deborah Ballok, Dover resident and retired visual arts teacher. The logo will be used on anniversary collateral and merchandise to help raise revenue to offset the costs of the celebration.


    Dover was the first permanent settlement in New Hampshire, established in 1623 and the 7th settlement in the United States colonies.  The 400th Anniversary Committee was formed in 2018 and is tasked with planning and organizing the City’s 400thbirthday celebration which will include historical reenactments, fireworks and parades, school involvement, and more throughout the year.  “It’s important to have residents and businesses work side by side in the planning and the celebration, itself,” said Committee Chair, Kevin McEneaney. “This is a significant community milestone to be celebrated.”


    The Committee’s first order of business was creating a visual representation to use on collateral and goods. Ballok presented the committee with nine sketches which were narrowed down to three. Through the revision process, they landed on two images which were ultimately accepted and copyrighted. “When I was accepted onto the 400th Anniversary Committee one of the first items discussed was need for a logo design,” said Ballok. “I was excited to use my skills and expertise to recognize such a special date in our City’s history.”


    Ballok graduated from Southern Connecticut State University with a Bachelors of Science in Visual Arts Education. She worked as a visual arts teacher for 35 years, twenty years at Hudson Memorial Middle School, and another fifteen at Alvirne High School before moving to Dover.


    The Dover 400th Anniversary Committee is comprised of seventeen members. In addition to McEneaney  and Ballok members include: Kathleen Morrison (vice chair) Sam Allen, Coleen Ayers, Elizabeth Worboys Burr, Angela Carter, Nicole Desjarlais Paulick, Guy Eaton, Morgan Faustino, Jesse

    Andrew Galt,  Zachary Koehler, Tom Massingham, Kathleen Shannon, Douglas Steele, Karen Weston,  and Robert Carrier.


    The Committee is currently seeking sponsors for the celebration. For more information, please contact Dover 400th Anniversary Committee Chair, Kevin McEneaney at k.mceneaney@dover.nh.gov